Video of the day Reviews

As my family have their usual Christmas naps. I thought I would say hello to you guys.  I promised a Youtube Video Review in Bulk and here it is. Shorter than I would thought it would be, but this is a trial run of a few plans I have for next year.

Hope everyone is having a fun Christmas. Enjoy the reviews and for those of you new to my blog, these are what I like.

Hobbit – A honest trailer

A good start to the videos with the first movie “Honest Trailer”ed.

Positives

Good Video – parodying the trailers you see at films.

The re imagined character names at the end of every video.

Negatives

Very pessimistic view, but it does it for a reason. Most trailers indicate it will be a great film, but this video flips it and creates a good video.

Overall

7.5/10

NFL – A Bad Lip reading

A very good video highlighting how lip reading can turn anything dirty and wrong.

Positives

Going through that much video and showing the weird minds of them by turning the conversations. Being mainly commentary and not knowing what they actually said probably helped.

Negatives

Some of the stuff I did not get, but it hits its marks quickly enough for you to laugh at the other stuff straight after.

Overall

8/10

Epic Meal Time – “Cake Sandwich”

God how I got hungry watching this video.

Positives

Good unique presentation

Weekly content

Negatives

How do they do this weekly?

Overall 

9/10

Yogscast – Lewis and Simon Animated

I thought the actual video was medicre but the actual channel has other good videos.

Positives

Good humor.

Negatives

Very Ricky Gervais Show in style, but very early in conception.  Few tweaks then it could be the show it could be. Tad bad on cartoon animation but it does not have the budget Gervais had.

Overall

5/10

Polaris – Stripppin got game

Not the best. I wish I didn’t pick this, I liked the promise but it did not deliver for me.

Positives

Strippin – charismatic host

Negatives

The show still stinks at times,  but i see where it aims to be.

Overall

3/10 – the worst of the bunch, the channel is still finding it’s feet in some of it’s shows.

Connections between LOTR and Hobbit – IGN

First non-humour video, Good context for people going to watch the latest Hobbit film this Christmas period.

Positives

The knowledge, knowing a crypt is for one of the dwarfs in the hobbit fellowship is good.

Negatives

little bits – the random knowledge only takes it so far. The fun element is missed aa bit.

Overall

6.7/10

Cards Against Humanity – SourceFed Plays

I am actually going to be playing this tonight. The official website for the game says you can print it out yourself, as long as you don’t sell it.

Positives

Good humour.

Good Game Play.

Negatives

Humour could be taken both ways, it is adult in nature the game content.

Overall

I am thinking of waiting till I actually play the game . But the video is good.

7.5/10 – for now

Awkward Games – Pewdiepie

WiiU, the one weird game they played.  It highlighted a good dynamic between the two. Pewdiepie and his other half. Hats off for taking a weird game and showing off the good stuff.

Positives

Good Dynamic between the two.

Strange game highlighting the comedic value to it.

WTF Moments.

Negatives

Not a film quality video but this is his style and it works. Very niche.

Overall

6.7/10

MyHarto – Drunk Kitchen Series – Ep2 – Let’s Mac Out

I got introduced to her videos via her appearances in other youtube stuff. She shows a hell of a lot of stuff, and will continue to watch.

Positives

the unique content

the host very charismatic

Negatives

Hard to find one – very low budget – but this is what it is.

Overall

7/10

Rhett and Link- Song Get off the Phone

Highlighting their song talents, after watching this I could not get it out my head for a long while, DAM it back in again.

Positives

Good and Catchy Song.

Good reasons, catchy lyrics.

Negatives

I understand the reasons for the calls in the middle of the songs but it was too stop and start at times.

Overall

9/10

Rhett and Link GMM – The strangest Candies on Earth

Highlighting the TV style talkshow stuff, they have a good diverse set of skills.

Positives

Good show highlighting the random candies around the world.

Great dynamic between the two

The format works as it has been tried for 4 seasons of shows.

Negatives

The to be continued – I understand why its done but sometimes it is cut off too soon.

Overall

8/10

Takei’s Take Featuring Felicia Day – Gaming the brain

I did not know what to think when watching it, but after digesting the information I understand him clearing up allot.

Positives

Simple and Easy.

Negatives

I did not get it a first but I started to realise it is not for me, it’s aimed for a more general audience

Overall

6/10

Mario Party 4- Retro Let’s Play Feat. George Takei

It was a good video showing how the novice can be trained and learned allot from the expert. As long as it is fun.

Positives

Good funny show.

Felicia back in the lead role works. – Plus the short hair is nice.

Negatives

Overall quality of game play was low, the personalities took priority.

Takei was a different take on the show and changed the dynamic, it worked for a while but I begun to miss the old team.

Overall

7.5/10

Machinima – Arkham Rising

Fan Film, it showed promise, did not quite live up to it. It was a good video for it.

Positives

good plot

easy to follow

hidden characters – makes me think

Negatives

too quick – too short

Overall

6/10

Node – History of Gaming – Sonic the Hedgehog

A good history video of the Sonic saga.

Positives

good gameplay

Negatives

commentary

Overall

5.5/10

 

Tabletop – The Resistance

A good game for Christmas time.

Positives

Well thought out format.

Quality of niche Guests.

Will Wheaton.

Negatives

None as I am a lover of the show. – A more neutral person would be able to view this differently.

Overall

9/10

Conclusion

All these videos I watched this year, I enjoyed all of them. I enjoyed how diverse and how weird the collections are. Good luck to all Youtubers, Bloggers and all other people who develop the diverse content I see.

Personally, I did this to see how I would do it,  as a trial sort of run. It worked sort of. I lost a few views from what I was getting,  but I will by this time next year have adapted it for the better.

 

I am off to go play Cards against Humanity with the family so….

thats me Dresdenfalls Signing Off….

Video of the Day Reviews

Leave a Reply

